The children of Hamelin by Danny Lasko : YA fantasy fairy tale

Posted: March 29, 2013 in Secondary
Tags: , , ,

The children of Hamelin
By Danny Lasko
2012

I came across this book by default and am so glad I did. I love the trailer. One of those great productions that you wouldn’t mind seeing the rest as a movie. However, I am now spending my Easter online trying to track down a copy. This really has a great premise and wonderful reviews. I am a fan of the many YA writers these days who are taking historical fairy tales and giving them a whole new slant. In this case Robert Browning’s famous poem The Pied Piper of Hamelin gets a revamp. I have always loved the story of the Pied Piper from the first moment I heard it in Standard four (many, many years ago!)
This is one of those moments I wished I had a kindle and could buy book now. One day! For now I’m off to look online.

From Goodreads blurb
“Everyone knows the Pied Piper led them away. But no one knows what happened to them.
THE UNITED STATES IS DEAD.
THE SYNARCH RULE IS TOTAL.
AND THE ONLY HOPE IS A FAIRY TALE.
As a descendant of the Children of Hamelin, Horatio Gaph is endowed with great power: the very power that enables him to be the youngest and most popular player ever chosen to play The Escape, the national past time of the Citizens, and offers him a rare chance to leave behind the impoverished lifestyle of all lo-pry.
But when he discovers that the power he holds is not his to keep and must be returned to defeat a mysterious evil in an unseen world threatening unknown millions, he struggles with the responsibility handed down to him from a thousand years of tradition and the desire to help his own dystopian world free itself from the oppressive government, The Synarch, knowing that saving one world means the ruin of the other”.

Leave a comment