Bicycling to the moon by Timo Parvela : funny tales about the true meaning of friendship @geckopress

Posted: April 21, 2016 in Primary School
Tags: , , , ,

Bicycling to the moon

By Timo Parvela

Illustrated by Virpi Talvitie

Translated by Ruth Urbom

ISBN 9781776570324

Gecko Press

Bicycling to the Moon cover

Purdy the cat and Barker the dog live together in a sky-blue house on top of a hill.

Barker likes the garden. He wants only to dig, to scratch up the earth and turn it over. But Purdy has big dreams: he wants to fly south with the birds, win the singing competition, be a Supercat.

I am so glad that Gecko Press translate so many books for children or I would miss delights such as this book. Bicycling to the moon is quirky, funny and at times quite profound with it stories of friendship and the value of loyalty. As best of friends, Purdy and Barker often frustrate each other. Barker certainly seems to do more than his share of work around the house and Purdy often spends his time complaining about things and not getting much done but at the end of the day, they really do care about each other.

I particularly loved the chapter “A singing contest”. Like Purdy, I am someone who cannot sing at all. In fact I recall a teacher telling me years ago that I should mime the words when my class sang in front of the school. I think Barker would have had something to say to my teacher! I still mime if I have to sing in public.

This collection of short stories is broken up with lovely colourful illustrations making it ideal for readers from seven up, to read on their own. This is also perfect for parents and grandparents to share before bedtime. It might even generate conversations on friendships, loyalty and honesty. Love it!

Leave a Reply

