Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by @jk_rowling #HarryPotterillustrated stunningly beautiful A real treasure

Posted: October 6, 2015 in Intermediate, Primary School, Secondary
Tags: , , , , , ,

Harry Potter and the Philospher’s Stone

By J. K. Rowling

Illustrated by Jim Kay

ISBN9781408845646

Bloomsbury

 

9781408845646

First thing this morning I picked up my copy of this book and I have done nothing else but paw over the pages. Wow! Double wow! It is simply awesome. This is the same wonderful, magical story we know and love but vividly illustrated in how I can only describe, as stunning. It is beautifully packaged in hardback and the end pages alone are so hauntingly beautiful that it took me ages to turn to the next page, as I was totally mesmerized by the art work.

The pages depicting Diagon Alley are just perfect with their crooked and disheveled  shops. I so want to go shopping there and walk the same streets.

Harry’s loneliness is captured so vividly that you can’t help but be moved by his total vulnerability. Love it. Draws you right in to Harry’s world.

It is a beautiful spring day here in Christchurch, New Zealand with temperatures heading towards 27 degrees C. I need to get in to my garden but I really can not move. I just want to sit here and read this over and over. It really is a stunning book and one that I am sure will not only fly off shop shelves but it will become a firm favourite and a treasured and much-loved book for so many readers.

For those who already love Harry, Hermione and Ron, this is gorgeous. For those who have yet to meet Harry, this is the way to do it. Hop on board the Hogwarts train to a magical world of make-believe.

Jim Kay discusses his pictures here.

Leave a Reply

