Henny ; a delightful new picture book for wee ones by Elizabeth Rose Stanton @PenspaperStudio

Posted: January 7, 2014 in Pre-school
Tags: ,

Henny
By Elizabeth Rose Stanton

Penspaper Studio

I trust your New Year celebrations went well and for those of you in New Zealand I hope you are soaking up the sun somewhere and finding time to read. I hope friends in the rest of the world are staying warm and out of the cold.
I am often asked where I find the trailers and books books I review. It is all about being pro-active. I follow people on Twitter, publishers on Facebook and of course chats with fellow librarians and book sellers. There is nothing so good as browsing in a bookshop and talking to the staff.
Well yesterday I discovered a name I had not heard of before but trust me I will be keeping an eye out for her work. Take time to check out her blog and website. The illustrations of her pig are delightful.
This new book is aimed at the very young and shows us that is okay to be different. Always a good topic.

Henny is different. As a chicken she should have wings but Henny has arms instead. That does not stop Henny at all. Henny accepts her life with all the grace and charm and humour that life offers even if it means doing things her way and not the same way as everyone else. The art work is just lovely. The faces of the characters tell us so much more. This is bound to be a hit with wee ones.

Leave a Reply

