Everything I need to know I learned from a Little Golden Book @RHNZ

Posted: November 7, 2013 in Everyone
Tags: , , , ,

Everything I need to know I learned from a Little Golden Book
By Diane Muldrow

9780307977618

I bought this delightful book yesterday for the school library and even though I haven’t even processed it yet I have children and teachers begging to be first to read it. (Teachers mostly!)
We have all grown up with Little Golden Books. They were everywhere – they still are but this one is a treasure to keep.
It is simply a “guide-to-life” seen through the pages of Little Golden Books. It really is aimed at adults who will be transported back in time to their own childhood and their own memories of these wonderful books. The size and format is exactly the same with its iconic golden spine. The end pages are gorgeous.
I wish I could show you the inside of this book and all the hilarious retro illustrations. There is mother in her perfection wearing the full apron while hoovering the house and father in his suit.
My favourite was and still is The Poky little puppy who here tells us to “remember to stop and smell the strawberries”.
It is a look back at some of some of best illustrators, including Richard Scarry and Eloise Wilkin and the Poky Little Puppy illustrator, Gustaf Tenggren, whom I admit I have never heard of – but know his little puppy anywhere!
The book is full of little quips to lead us to a better life. It is great for children but equally great for the child in us all. This really is a beautiful book and would make the most wonderful gift to give this Christmas.

Leave a Reply

