The screaming staircase by @JonathanAStroud : hauntings are our business

Posted: August 11, 2013 in Intermediate, Secondary
Tags: , , ,

The screaming staircase
By Jonathan Stroud

Lockwood & Co : Hauntings are our business
This is the first book in Jonathan Stroud’s chilling and ghostly new series.

Those who read this blog now and again will know how much I love a good ghost story. This one has been on my list for awhile and I can not wait until it is on the shelves in bookshops. I have been searching in vein for sometime for a trailer to this book and thanks to fellow librarian Zac who let me know via Facebook that it was finally here. And it was worth the wait. Great trailer!

There has been a terrifying epidemic of ghosts haunting the country for more than fifty years now. Lucy Carlyle is a young psychic investigator who begins working for Anthony Lockwood but after a rather disastrous case they have one chance to put things right. They have not option but to stay the night in England’s most haunted house. I can’t wait to see how they manage and just how ghostly things will get.

It is suggested that when you do read this novel – you’ll want to sleep with the lights on!

I really enjoyed The Amulet of Samarkand which I read a few years ago so I am definitely watching out for this one.

Leave a Reply

